Membership & Contacts

Currently membership is largely made up of professionals who care for literary papers in university and national libraries. However, GLAM hopes to develop a broad and inclusive membership, welcoming the interest and participation of: custodians of literary collections in any context, including local record offices, public libraries, single-author centres, museums, literary publishing houses and agencies; researchers and teachers at all levels with an interest in literary archives and manuscripts; and writers (who are after all the creators of our literary collections!)

See a list of member institutions, with links to their websites, literary projects and other relevant pages.

GLAM is steered by a committee comprised of:

Chair: David Sutton
Director of Research Projects
Reading University Library, Whiteknights, PO Box 223, Reading RG6 6EA

Secretary: Judy Burg
University Archivist
Hull History Centre, Worship Street, Hull HU2 8BG
Tel: 02482 317502

Treasurer: Fiona Courage
Special Collections Manager
University of Sussex Library, Falmer, Brighton BN1 9QL
Tel: 01273 877911.

Web Officer: Zoë Wilcox
Curator of Modern Literary and Theatrical Manuscripts
British Library, 96 Euston Road, London NW1 2DB

Rachel Foss
Lead Curator of Modern Literary Manuscripts
British Library

Fran Baker
University of Manchester Library

Chris Fletcher
Head of Western Manuscripts
Bodleian Library

John Wells
Department of Manuscripts and University Archives
Cambridge University Library

TNA Adviser to the GLAM Committee:
James Travers
Senior Archives Adviser (Casework)
National Advisory Services, The National Archives

Information about GLAM is currently disseminated via an email list. If you would like to join the mailing list, please e-mail the Secretary.

Cataloguing Working Party

This sub-group of GLAM was set up in 2009 and meets bianually. The Chair is rotated between members on a six-monthly basis. Membership of the group is as follows:

  • Fran Baker, University of Manchester Library
  • Jacqui Grainger, Chawton House Library
  • Helen Melody, British Library
  • Sarah Prescott, University of Leeds
  • Karen Sayers, University of Leeds
  • Paul Sillitoe, independent member
  • Zoë Wilcox, British Library

Minutes of Cataloguing Working Party meetings are available here.

E M Forster © Edward Leigh

E.M. Forster in his rooms at King’s College, Cambridge, in 1968. King’s College, Cambridge Archive Centre EMF/27/862. © Edward Leigh.

6 Responses to Membership & Contacts

  1. Judi Daykin says:

    I am seeking to contact the Literary Executors of the Vera Britain Estate with a view to including some of Vera’s story and words within a play I am writing. Do you have an email or an address where I could contact them to discuss the possibility? Many Thanks.

  2. Zoe Wilcox says:

    Dear Judi,

    The contact for the Vera Brittain Estate is listed on WATCH (the database of Writers Artists and their Copyright Holders) at

    Best wishes,

    Zoe Wilcox

    GLAM Web Officer

  3. Amy Barker says:

    I am hoping to contact someone at Cambridge- possibly John Wells? My interest is in the Siegfried Sassoon archive, I’m working on an exhibition in Newcastle for September, and have been speaking to the British Library who suggested I got in touch with John.
    Many thanks.

  4. Zoe Wilcox says:

    Dear Amy,

    I will forward your message to John. Alternatively, you will find contact details for Cambridge University Library:

    Best wishes,

    Zoe Wilcox
    GLAM Web Officer

  5. Elizabeth Gow says:

    The telephone number for Judy Berg is not correct. Please could you change this information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>