GLAM Survey of Collecting Policy & Practice:
King’s School Library, Canterbury

The Hugh Walpole Collection, donated by Hugh Walpole in 1938, contains about 150 English literary manuscripts. Most of the major writers of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries are represented. These include: Arnold Bennett, Charlotte and Emily Brontë, Lewis Carroll, Wilkie Collins, George Eliot, Henry James, Rudyard Kipling, D.H. Lawrence, Somerset Maugham, William Morris, Christina Rossetti, Walter Scott, W.M. Thackeray, Hugh Walpole and W.B. Yeats.

Recent Acquisitions

Description of acquisition (including extent) Type of acquisition Source of acquisition
Hugh Walpole, The Sea Tower [manuscript novel] September 2005 Purchase Dealer (Funded by own resouces)

For further information or enquiries please contact King’s School Library direct.

Back to Survey of Collecting Policy and Practice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.